Week 1: Done!

Quote Of The Day: “If you have good thoughts, they will shine out of your head like sunbeams and you will always look lovely” – Roald Dahl… This was the perfect quote for the first week of practicum! It was my intention to walk into the classroom with positive thoughts. Entering with a positive mindset sets the tone for the day. When you are having an off day, or feeling nervous and overwhelmed, your students feel it! On the first day of class, it is very important that I stay a pillar of strength; warmly welcoming students and letting joy spill from my heart.

What I Am Hanging Hope On: A sweet student of mine, Alex*, told Ms. S (the other classroom teacher) and I, that he was going to ask his mother to reschedule a doctor appointment. Why? So that he didn’t have to miss Monday! He said he wanted to spend time with his teachers because he was thoroughly enjoying Summer Learning Place. I am hanging my hope on the idea that all the students in class are enjoying the experience just as much as Alex!

How I Am Feeling: I feel relieved! This week has been a whirlwind and I am glad it is over. New beginnings can be hard. However, after getting to know my students, I know this is going to be a wonderful experience and nothing I can’t handle! The irony is that my students think they are the learners. Little do they know, I am the learner! These babies are teaching me how to become a better teacher. During this practicum my goals are to better individualize instruction, employ unique and innovative teaching methods, and help each student succeed in meeting their goals.

A Wish For Tomorrow: I noticed the students’ attention span begins to dwindle in the afternoon. My wish for tomorrow is that my afternoon reading and writing lessons, paired with a captivating classroom management style, hook and maintain the students’ attention!

Food For Thought: One of the introduction activities we did was titled “The Perfect Teacher”. In this activity, the students spoke their minds open and honestly! They weren’t afraid to tell Ms. S and I what ‘the perfect teacher’ would be like. Their top request? “A perfect teacher is kind”. Later on, students described their favorite teacher. My food for thought is this- at the end of the day, what do you hope your students think about you? I know I am not the perfect teacher by any means, but if kindness is their top priority, then I think I am succeeding thus far! I hope to be someone students trust and respect. It is my goal to treat each student with kindness and fairness. I hope each child receives all they need to succeed and understands that I am their biggest advocate-  when we work together, their is no problem too big to conquer!

One thought on “Week 1: Done!

Leave a Reply

