Dabbling In Division

Quote Of The Day: “Mistakes are proof that you are trying”… a perfect quote for this blog post! Today I had my first observed lesson of the practicum experience. Although not everything went perfect, things were pretty well planned! One mistake was that I didn’t keep a close eye on my timing. Although students were catching on quickly, the pacing of the lesson could have been slowed down.

What I Am Hanging Hope On: Division! Yesterday, I introduced students to division in a hands-on activity involving the division of beads into equal groups. We worked with problems with the numbers 2, 3, and 4 as divisors. Today, we took things a step further! As stated previously, students began to understand the concept of division yesterday. They learned that to divide means to split things into equal groups; “fair sharing”. Today we moved past only having a divisor of either 2, 3, or 4. After connecting to prior knowledge, students played a division matching game. Next they were given a division word problem to solve. They each drew a visual representation of the problem to help them solve! Finally, students created lists of real-world applications of division!

How I Am Feeling: Overall, I am feeling pleased! I couldn’t be more proud of the progress my students are making. It brings me joy to see them grasp new concepts and flourish in the classroom. Today’s division lesson built on yesterdays. I felt the connection and small steps, that progressed off of one another, set up students for success!

A Wish For Tomorrow: More success and happy endings 🙂 I am going to introduce the connection between division and multiplication. My wish? That students find more success and their confidence continues to build!

Food For Thought: Next time I teach this lesson, I will correct the pacing. I may also choose another manipulative aside from beads to work with- they kept falling off the table! Oops! Although no big deal, falling beads were a distraction from students’ learning. Do you know of any good techniques for teaching division? I am always eager to learn!

5 thoughts on “Dabbling In Division

  1. It’s so encouraging to see how you create activities for your kids to learn math concepts. So many think that math is just lecture, worksheet, test. I may need to pick your brain on how to incorporate these types of activities in my class. Overall, it sounds like your lesson was engaging, even with the falling beads.

    Like

  2. Lauren,
    I have really enjoyed working with. I was nervous at first about having another teacher in the classroom and how it would work out. However, it has been great getting to share ideas. I have learned so many fun activities from watching you teach.

    Like

  3. Dearest Lauren,
    I truly enjoyed reading your post. Math is not an easy subject to teach as it requires so many skills to be used in tandem, and one skill has to be mastered and built upon the next. I love the way you approach teaching so enthusiastically and whole heartedly. Your passion for teaching and your efforts to make every student a success story is humbling. I find your approach to your blogs and your reflections very insightful and reflective. I hope to be a reflective practitioner like yourself and use the same strategy. I am so excited to see how you grow each day in your craft. Keep up the great work.

    All my best,
    Jamie

    Like

  4. Lauren,
    I love this post! You are so joyful. I think you prepared an awesome division lesson by providing so many different opportunities for students to practice. I especially loved your use of manipulatives and a real-world application point. I think it’s so important to connect math, as often as possible, to reality. We use math every single day, and our students need to recognize this at an early age. Not to mention, your lesson becomes all the more meaningful. As far as a manipulative suggestion, I would perhaps try something edible next time. The best lessons include food, right? I’m going to begin reviewing arrays with my students next week. For one lesson, we will manipulate Cheez-Its as we generate arrays. Because they’re square and rather flat, I don’t think they’ll pose the same problem as beads. 🙂
    -Teresa

    Like

  5. It was a great lesson and I could tell the students enjoyed it. Students that age really benefit from seeing concrete examples first and then transfer their knowledge to more abstract concepts.

    Like

Leave a Reply

